Legal Question in Criminal Law in Michigan

In the state of Michigan what are the charges and penalties for using a debit credit card without the owner's permission for 3 transactions totaling $120.00?

Asked on 9/15/13, 6:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Neil O'Brien Eaton County Chief Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

This could be issued as three counts of Unlawful Use of a Financial Transaction Device. Each count carries up to 4 years in prison and/or $5,000 fine. Plus, full restitution must be ordered. Any incarceration for the The sentences would likely be served concurrently with each other (all at once, not added together. This from is in the lowest class of felonies when scoring the felony sentencing guidelines, so it is very hard to get a prison term, but more likely a probation term with possible county jail time.

Read more
Answered on 9/16/13, 5:10 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan