Legal Question in Criminal Law in Michigan

State of Michigan. Statutory rape statute of limitations. Can I press charges?

I was raped at 16, and am now 46. I would like to press charges. I seen priests taken to court over their sexual misconduct and wondered if I can stop the mental torture I'm going through knowing this man tried to also rape my sister when she was 14 and his own step daughter when she was 16. He is a middle/Junior high school teacher and should not be around kids. He likes kids ages 13 to 16.

I live in Tennessee but this happened in Michigan.

What can be done about it?

Asked on 4/08/10, 6:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Neil O'Brien Eaton County Chief Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The statute of limitations for your matter expired many years ago, so a prosecutor could not issue charges.

Read more
4/14/10, 5:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8812 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now