Can you please tell me if there is a statute of limitation on statutory rape in Michigan?
1 Answer from Attorneys
The general statute of limitations in Michigan is 6 years. But CSCs are exceptions. MCL 767.24(2) says that there is a 10-year statute of limitations (the deadline to file a charge after a crime date) on CSC 2nd, CSC 3rd or CSC 4th, or the victim's 21st birthday, whichever is later. And if DNA results identified a previously unidentified suspect then it is 10 years from the DNA result date or the victim's 21st birthday, whichever is later. But this law does not mention CSC 1st Degree, which means there is no statute of limitations for this crime. "Statutory rape" is not a legal term used in Michigan, but you mean situations where the victim being under the 16 year old age of consent is an element of the crime. That can be an element for any of the four CSC degrees. You can read about the elements that differentiate these four types of CSC at http://www.eatoncounty.org/Departments/ProsecutingAttorney/Define.htm#CSC .
Related Questions & Answers
Can I violate probation by getting a loitering ticket in a high drug area Asked 2/26/11, 3:37 am in United States Michigan Criminal Law
I am 18 and was caught shoplifting at Kohls. I have no previous record and the... Asked 2/25/11, 8:40 am in United States Michigan Criminal Law
Is VCSA a felony? in michigan is a drug charge VCSA a felony Asked 2/24/11, 6:58 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law
Delivery of a controlled substance under 50 grams how much jail time is involed Asked 2/24/11, 6:03 am in United States Michigan Criminal Law
My cousin was chased out of a store when she stole and they wrote her plate down. .... Asked 2/23/11, 10:26 pm in United States Michigan Criminal Law