Michigan | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Teenage Runaways
My son is 15 years old and has run away from his fathers place yet again. I would like to find out what happens when a child runs away. I was told by a lawyer, that when the teenager is 16 the police will not do anything about it. Since he's 15 will they do anything? He's not running away because he doesn't want to listen, he's running away because of abuse. Will this make a difference?
Legal Answer
Re: Teenage Runaways
The police should take action if the person is under 18 years of age, unless they are emancipated. You can request police action by reporting the runaway. They will either return him to one of his parents, or place him in a foster home or juvenile center if there is a reason not to return him to his parents' custody. Since you said there is abuse in his father's care, they likely won't return him there, but will find another place for him, such as a juvenile home, until the matter can be investigated by Child Protective Services.
Audra A. Arndt & Associates, PLLC 6689 Orchard Lake Road #284 West Bloomfield, MI 48322
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Re: Teenage Runaways
If a child is being abused, immediately report the abuse to Childrens' Protective Services and to the county Sheriff's office.
Kronzek & Cronkright P.L.L.C. Main office - 420 S. Waverly Road Suite 100 Lansing, MI 48917
► Other answers from this attorney

