Michigan | Criminal Law
Legal Question
theft
Iwas accuse of stealing three CD that were in my hand,and in sight while I was still in the electronic area of store, the sales person came up and implied I was going to steal the items,I wasn't going to buy them and proceed to snatch them out of my hand,he pushed me and I hit him back, more than once. Security arrived, broke up the fight and took me into custody, the clerk isn't pressing charges,but tried to imply that I was trying to steal more than the items in my hand, he walked away and return with three other CD's that I hadn't even seen. Photos were taken of the 3 I had and the others were put back as far as I know. I was taken to jail and paid $200 to be released. I have a court date January 8,2007. Do I need an attorney? I was not stealing, only doing my Christmas shoppiing.


