Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Michigan

Defamation of Character

My wife has had a stressful situation arise at work. A coworker has filed a racial discrimination suit against her employer. The woman was about to be fired due to poor attendance and missed deadlines. The employer did not fire the woman for fears of the act being construed as retaliation. My wife has been told in confidentiality that she was mentioned in the suit in terms that follows: ''The white woman coordinator will not talk to me because I am black.'' There has been a breakdown in communication between them, but it has been created by the woman filing the suit. She has refused to acknowledge my wife for the past 3 months, for example she will blatantly not answer or respond at all, continues to stare straight at her computer like my wife does not exist. My wife fears that the company will now think she is racist. What should she do? Does she have a right to have a copy of the suit? Does she have recourse to sue this woman for defamation of character, given the false statement implies my wife is a racist? Please help...My wife is not looking for a pay out, she is looking to set the record straight. Thanks for any help you can give...

Asked on 8/24/04, 1:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Stern William Stern, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Defamation of Character

Tell her to be herself and just do her job. Things will shake out. William S. Stern

Read more
8/24/04, 3:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now