Michigan  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/07/09, 4:31 am

Legal Question


I recently took part in a hair modeling “audition” where no male models were selected. I and the other male models, I would assume, were very frustrated about this outcome as we were hoping to be used in the hair show. I am unsure of how “audition” law works however I believe there was discrimination based on sex, which is violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

The talent agency that I heard about the event is

Eminent Casting

eminentcasting@yahoo.com

818-505-1676

The company hosting the event is (Also the hiring company)

Maly's

800-336-2597

Some of the companies using models for this show are

Paul Michell

Redken

Matrix

As well as several others


question bubble
11/12/09, 12:07 pm

Legal Answer


This is not discrimination. Hair shows are like modeling shows -- the physical attributes of the models (whether hair, height, weight, gender or color) are at the choice of the companies who hire the models. They are not required to have a mix of men and women, or a mix of minorities. They may choose whomever they want to model their styles/products.

Why don't you audition for a male modeling show (for a hair show of male styles and products)?

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search