Elder Law
I visted an elder law attorney to set up a irrevocable trust for my mom in law. My dad in law is very ill and was setting him up for Medicaid. Well, now my he is going into Hospice. Is it necessary to set up the trust?
|
Read More Answered By: Jerrold Bartholomew |
Re: Elder Law If your father's passing is imminent, I would say that the estate plan should change and that it makes sense to do a different type of trust than would have otherwise been established. The focus now should be on protecting assets during your MIL's remaining lifetime (in case she should need care) rather than immediately qualifying for Medicaid.
But this is a very fact sensitive situation: I have had clients live for years on hospice, so it is not necessarily the case that the planning should be different. |
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 135
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 125
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-18
Troy, MI
Questions Answered: 96
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Howell, MI
Questions Answered: 75
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 71
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-06
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-17
Kalamazoo, MI
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-14
Toledo, OH
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-26
Allegan, MI
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
► Ladybird Deed With regard to a Ladybird deed, what would be the name referenced on...
► Elderly parents being forced into a nursing home My father is 89 and my mother is...
► Guardianship in michigan Hello. My father just passed away and my mother has...
► Loan not repaid from wealthy stepson I am 67 years old and my stepson borrowed...
► Pain and suffering My family is entering into Mediation with the Catholic church,who...
► Will & Beneficiary on Accounts My brother made a will aproximately 30 years ago....
► POA person with Dementia finaincial issues My Grandma dx with dementia 5 years ago...
More Elder Law questions and answers in Michigan| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press