Michigan | Family Law
Legal Question
Enforcing divorce agreement after death of one party
My parents were divorced 20 years ago; the agreement included a requirement that my dad maintain a small life insurance policy on himself, and that my mom be the ''irrevocable beneficiary''. Dad remarried and changed the beneficiary to his new wife, who received the insurance distribution. Can my mom sue my dad's estate to enforce the original agreement and collect the life insurance proceeds from the estate? If so, is there a statute of limitations on how long she has to do this? How would she go about doing this? If not, does she have any other recourse? (Like putting a lien on my dad and new wife's house?) Thanks for any help you can give us !


