Michigan  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 3:37 pm

Legal Question


In a joint or shared custody situation, am I still eligible to recieve child support? I make 1/3 what my husband does. also, can we file and go thru the divorce process without retaining lawyers? We're trying to save $. Thanks!

- E


question bubble
11/19/09, 3:50 pm

Legal Answer


If you and your husband feel well qualified to practice divorce law, you can do so. You are not required to hire a lawyer. However, most lawyers that get divorced are smart enough to realize that they should hire other lawyers to handle their divorce. In other words, even a professional should not try to represent themselves in court. Trying to save money on a lawyer is like trying to save money on a doctor by doing your own surgery.

www.MidMichiganDivorce.com

Charles Kronzek

Kronzek & Cronkright P.L.L.C. Main office - 420 S. Waverly Road Suite 100 Lansing, MI 48917

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search