Michigan  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 5:48 pm

Legal Question


I'm a michigan resident which is on disability,and my husband and are just recently going through bankrupsty which is almost final in 30 days .he was self employed as a non-licenced electrician.but over the last year hasn't had more than 5,000 worth of employment .at least that he's told me about.we've fallen behind so badly with our first and second mortgages they will probably forclose.a month ago i asked him to leave because he told me he had been hiding money and spending it on drugs and gambling,which is why i had to take out a 2nd mortgage 2 years ago. to date he still hasn't given me a cent towards bills.

my question is how or will this effect our bankruptsy and also what do i have to do to get a legal separation in order to protect any assets that are left .i'm probably going to be asked to refinance,sell or they will forclose.i have no money except my small disability check which isn't enough to pay all the bills let alone rent some place.can you please help? jan


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search