Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Michigan

I purchased a car without a title, thinking I could get an abandoned vehicle title for it. From my understanding the law has been changed and that it is no longer possible to do. I purchased a carfax to find out information on the owner. I found out that the car has a lien on it and the owner refuses to make contact with me other than one message stating he loaned the car to a relative and didnt know the car had been sold and he didnt want to sell the car. I have a bill of sale, and the actual car and key, but what is my next option? From what I gathered I cannot sell, scrap or register this car without a title. I live in michigan.

Asked on 8/22/13, 10:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Stern William Stern, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You bought nothing. Go after the guy you bought it from. If that is not an option, you lost your money. That is why they have car titles.

Read more
8/22/13, 11:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now