Michigan  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 11:33 am

Legal Question


My friend visited the dr. last Jan. Had some of her breast removed because of some lumps. Her Dr. office never contacted her. A week and a half ago she was at school and one of her classmates Mother works at the office that my friend went to. Anyway, the classmate gave my friend a letter that was from her doctor office and it said to be see because of suspicious growth. She called the office to get an appointment and they wouldn't schedule her and wouldn't give her the time of day. Is this a HIPAA Violation?


question bubble
11/22/09, 2:38 pm

Legal Answer


It could probably be a violation. More facts are needed to acertain. Did the patient give Dr's office a release? What kind of release? WHy will they not give appointment? Call a qualified attorney to go from here.

JASSI SACHDEV

LAW OFFICES OF JASSI S. SACHDEV, P.C. 39111 W. Six Mile Road, Suite 107 Livonia, MI 48152

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search