Michigan  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
7/06/09, 2:21 pm

Legal Question


Imitating Another Website

A company that I work for has

purchased the plural domain names

of a few companies and wants to

make a number of websites that

mimic the content on the existing

competitors sites.

I have tried to point out that this has

to be illegal somehow, but I am not

getting anywhere with my boss.

An example of this would be: buying

widgets dot com and creating a site

that looked like widget dot com but

instead it was selling your own

product.

He thinks this will help his search

engine rankings among other things.

Can you offer any links or

information that I can send to him to

tell him this is not a good idea.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search