Michigan | Juvenile Dependency
Legal Question
How can a 16 year old get out of their parents house?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Renee Walsh |
It is difficult. If it is bad in the house, then the Family Independence Agency could become involved and the 16 year old could be placed with a family member or friend. If the 16 year old has a job and is otherwise responsible and independent, emancipation may be an option.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Neil O'Brien |
Wait 2 years until you turn 18.
The "emancipation" option mentioned by the first attorney is a loooooooooooong shot. It is rarely granted by a judge. You have to show not just that you "have a job" (because most 16 yr olds have just part-time, minimum wage jobs), but that you can financially provide for all of your financial means (you pay all of your bills like rent, utilities, food, transportation, etc.) AND that there is evidence that you are emotionally mature enough to take on adult responsibilities like signing contracts. (You can't legally sign a contract -- like a lease -- until you are 18. Even if you are emancipated, it will be tough to get a landlord to sign a lease with a 16 yr old.)
I am also wary about the other option mentioned above. (First of all, it's the department of Human Services, not the Family Independence Agency ... name's been changed for 3+ years.) You do not mention what the problems are at home. If the problems are true child safety things like sexual abuse, then DHS should be involved (and maybe even the police). But if it's "they don't let me do what I want to do", "they don't let me hang with my friends", "they are mean to me" whinings of a child, then you are wasting DHS's time. and don't even think of making something up against yuor parents just to try to get someone to remove yuo from the home. Even if that gives you what you want in the short run, you will have harmed your parents to the core ... and they ARE your parents for Life. |
Top Attorneys in MI
Legal Data Services, PLC
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
Audra A. Arndt & Associates, PLLC
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Sr. Assistant Eaton County Prosecuting Attorney
Charlotte, MI
Questions Answered: 954
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Stuart M. Collis, P.C.
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Prowse Law PLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-14
Zock & Associates
Allegan, MI
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-11
McNeil Law Office, PLC
Portage, MI
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-10-19
Law Offices of John Graziani
Southgate, MI
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-17
Search Questions and Answers


