Michigan | Employment Law
Legal Question
In August of 2007 my employer eliminated my position, which by itself is okay. However, three weeks prior I had closed on a house ( a renovation project that I immediately began renovating). Can my employer be held resposible for not disclosing my eminent termination during the mortgage company's employment verification process?
As a result, the money I received in severence and my 401K money had to be used to make the house habitable, instead of paying off creditors had I not closed on the house(which I wouldn't have had I known I was losing my job) and after two years of trying to make ends meet in the current economic climate, I have had to file bankruptcy, causing irreparable harm to me and my creditors. Can anything be done?


