Michigan | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
An apartment rental company in Nevada is trying to come after me for money on an apartment I never seen or lived in. Information showed up on my credit report that I recently received. I called the rental company to inquire and was told that I signed a lease and therefore is held liable. I had them to fax me a copy of the lease they alleged I signed. When I received the lease, I noticed that a name was forged, wasn't my signature, and other information on the lease that didn't add up. My former roomate moved to Nevada in 2005, took an apartment, lived there for 3 months then moved out. As a result of that, they are coming after me for money on the apartment I never lived in, on a lease I never seen let alone signed. These people waited 4 years to put this on my credit report, I never left Michigan. Can I still be held liable for this apartment even though I gave permission in 2005 to run a credit report to see if I qualify for an apartment? My roomate gave permission as well to run her credit. She went on to Nevada, I stayed behind in Michigan. Isn't it agaginst the law for anyone to sign a legal binding document without permission or power of attorney?
Legal Answer
I think you have very good defenses to this case and I would be happy to represent you if you actually get sued on this bogus lease. Visit www.kliszlaw.com to discuss in more detail. Tim Klisz
Klisz Law Office, PLLC 39111 W. Six Mile Rd. Livonia, MI 48152
► Other answers from this attorney

