Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Michigan

I went to Meijer gas station and left my Baker One Debit Mastercard next to the machine where you swipe the card. I realized it was gone and went back within 45 minutes to find the cashier reported the card stolen and cut it up. My mom has liver cancer and only has a couple of months to live so I was on my way to be with her in Ohio (I'm in MI). Without my card I am unable to get any money or make purchases until a new card arrives in 5-7 business days. I called & spoke with a manager. He took my name & number & called me back within moments apologizing saying they would pay the $25.00 fee to issue a new card & I don't need proof. It is their policy that if a card is left behind in the gas station it is taken to the service desk inside the store and placed into a safe until the owner of the card comes to retrieve it. I called another Meijer gas station and was told that as well as told by the manager I spoke to that is their policy. He said she is a new employee but that doesn't help my new current situaiton.

I'm a full time student with no other money, can't go to be with my mom as I planned to & am wondering if there is anything else that can be done? Should Meijer also be responsible since I have no access to money for the next 5-7 days until a new card arrives? Any advice would be great!

Asked on 9/06/13, 6:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Loeb Law Offices of Thomas M. Loeb
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Meijer's policy is a good one. They are not responsible, at all.

-Tom

Read more
9/07/13, 8:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now