Michigan  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/06/10, 7:52 am

My parents are recently deceased. They had 160 acres of land that was willed to their four sons, each receiving 40 acres. One son is having financial difficulties and might be declaring bankruptcy. Is there anything he can do that will help preserve the entire 160 acre block without 40 acres going to auction?

1 Answer


Answered on: 4/13/10, 1:09 pm by Blake Lipman

He may be able to renounce his devise. I am not sure how his renunciation will be treated in bankruptcy, but the probate court will honor is renunciation and the transfer will go to the remaining sibs. For more info., please contact my office at (248)851-3171.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Blake P. Lipman 31275 Northwestern Hwy. Suite 140 Farmington Hills, MI 48334

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search