Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Michigan

Suppose that a deed was made out to "John and Mary Smith, husband and wife"; with no mention as to how they were taking title. Which would Michigan law presume: joint tenancy, tenancy in common, tenancy by the entirety, or community property? Why?

Asked on 6/17/13, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Klisz Klisz Law Office, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

by the entirety, because that is what husband and wife ownership is in Michigan. It works the same as joint tenancy.

Read more
6/17/13, 12:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now