Michigan  |  Traffic Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/24/08, 11:19 am

improper lane usage

Due to bad weather you can not see

the turning lane and we had our

indicator on and turned left

so this police officer gave us a $120

ticket after he gave us the ticket he

left and gave us a 1/2 hour way to

get to the airport after we came to

take pictures then the roads were

clean ironically in that whole day the

had to clean right after our ticket

do u think we should go to court or

not

4 Answers


Answered on: 12/27/08, 5:51 pm by Audra Arndt

Re: improper lane usage

You should always fight traffic tickets, even if you are guilty. If you have a perfect or good driving record, more often than not you can get the ticket reduced to a no point violation. In this case, you have a legitimate defense that you could not see the lane clearly because of the weather. However, the police officer will be present when you talk to the prosecutor, so it will depend on what he has to say as well.

I always recommend hiring a lawyer to fight tickets because it is worth a few hundred bucks to have it reduced and not appear on your driving record, since that will make your insurance rates increase for at least 3 years, and make it more difficult to get a break on any future tickets since you'd have this one on your record.

If you are in the tri-county area of Michigan, please contact me if you'd like to retain a lawyer.

Thanks.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Audra A. Arndt & Associates, PLLC 6689 Orchard Lake Road #284 West Bloomfield, MI 48322

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/24/08, 11:31 am by Eric I. Kutinsky

Re: improper lane usage

Yes you should fight the ticket. We can help and hopefully get the points reduced.

Please call us at The Michigan Legal Team, PC to discuss further.

Toll free at 877 MICH-TEAM

Eric I. Kutinsky, Esq


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


THE MICHIGAN LEGAL TEAM, P.C. 24460 Telegraph Rd Southfield, MI 48034

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/24/08, 11:32 am by Timothy Klisz

Re: improper lane usage

you should certainly not just pay it. Points are killer on your insurance. Visit www.kliszlaw.com. Tim Klisz


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Klisz Law Office, PLLC 39111 W. Six Mile Rd. Livonia, MI 48152

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/24/08, 1:46 pm by Carole Lohr

Re: improper lane usage

You should evaluate several things in making your decision, specifically the amount of money involved, the value of your time, and the effect of having additional points listed on your license. Also you need to decide do you just want to fight the merits of the ticket. An attorney can assist you in evaluating whether in your particular case it it worth it to hire an attorney or proceed pro se (go to court without an attorney)on your own behalf. Most attorneys will give you a free consultation. Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Carole A. Lohr 1660 W. 2nd St. Suite 410 Cleveland, OH 44113

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search