Legal Question in Traffic Law in Michigan

I was pulled over or running a red light. I had no proof of insurance at that moment. I received a ticket for both the light and no insurance proof. A week later I went to the city hall to pay the tickets and gave my information and their computer said I had no tickets. I asked for them to check again just to make sure. And again I was told no sir you have no tickets. So i let time go by. about 4 months later I was pulled over speeding. Come to find out my license was suspended. I went to court and was told to pay my fines for the driving with a suspended license. I was told I had unpaid tickets. So I went back to the city of madison heights to pay them and was told a second time no I have no tickets. So I went back to virginia because I was tired of the problems. About 7 months later I came back to michigan to visit. I took my brother to work and was pulled over for back stickers. I was told I had a suspended license for failure to pay tickets. I was confused but oh well. I was put in jail. Bailed out. Went to my court date. Paid fines and was told everything was paid (this happened in madison heights. Where The supposed tickets were). I left thinking all was well. a few months later I receive a letter from the state of michigan saying I owe them money to get my license baIck for not paying tickets from madison heights. I asked them what the tickets were and they said I have tickets for no proof of insurance and running a light. I went to madison heights and was told a third time I had no tickets. I called secretary of state to complain and ask about the confusion. They gave me the ticket numbers. I took the numbers to madison heights and they found them. Under someone elses name. Now because of their mistake I was jailed, my car taken away, put into debt to pay fines and fees. Lost my job because I had no transportation. All because madison heights spelled my name wrong. The state spelled it write and had my information correct. But the city did not. Now is the city held liable for causing my suspended license for tickets I was told I didnt have?

Asked on 6/17/11, 8:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jules Fiani Law Offices of Jules N. Fiani
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Call me to discuss this matter at 810-227-7200. Over 30 years of experience with proven successful resutls.

Jules N. Fiani

Law Offices of Jules N. Fiani

Read more
6/18/11, 8:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now