Michigan | Traffic Law
Legal Question
I received a citation for a civil infraction under Michigan statute 257.653, Emergency Vehicle Caution Law. There was no accident, no injury to emergency personnel. It was my failure to change lanes upon seeing the emergency vehicle off the side of the road.
Based on the instruction on the form I received from the officer, I understand that I have to respond within 14 days with either admission of responsibility, admission of responsibility, or a denial of responsibility. What are the impacts of admitting responsibility for civil infraction to my criminal record? Is it worth the effort to admit responsibility with the explanation that I am an out-of-state driver, it was my first time driving on Michigan roadways, and I was unaware of the statute?
If I admit responsibility, how do I determine if there is a fine that I have to pay - there is nothing on the form given to me by the police officer that states what that fine would be. What should I do? Thank you.
Legal Answer
Hire a local attorney to help keep it off your states driving record. This will be bad for insurance if it goes on your record. www.kliszlaw.com. Tim Klisz
Klisz Law Office, PLLC 39111 W. Six Mile Rd. Livonia, MI 48152
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
go to michigantrafficviolations.com for more info on this traffic violation and for a traffic law lawyer
Daniel Hajji & Associates 30300 Northwestern Hwy Farmington Hills, MI 48334
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Your criminal record will not be affected as this is a civil matter. If you wish, you can schedule a court appearance to contest the citation which I advise you to do as these tickets can be negotiated to keep them off your traffic record.
Action Defense Center 4000 Livernois, Suite 140 Troy, MI 48098-4712
► Other answers from this attorney

