Michigan | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Co-signer who passes away
My mother recently passed away and did not have a will. 4 years ago I purchased the Mobile home my mother lived in because she was in need of the money. I lived out of state at the time so the bank that I financed through wanted me to have someone who lived in the state as a co-signer. My mother co-signed on the loan. Now that she has passed away the issue brought up among my family is do they have a legal right to a portion of the house. My question is the loan in is my name with my mother as a co-signer, the title states at the top ownership to survivor. I have made the monthly payments since the loan was done, the payment book is in my name. My family now wants to see my loan papers, title and payment books. They are also telling me that this will need to go through probate court since she is listed as the co-signer.


