Minnesota  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/09/09, 10:49 am

disorderly conduct

i cursed at a strange man @ the bus stop on a.m. for grabbing my granddaughter by the arm to tell her to leave his daughter alone. i saw it all and reported this to my local police who this man is freinds with.the cop told me that if i drop this complaint against him they wont charge me with disorderly conduct. well i have to go to court on march 17@9am . is there ant help for me?

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/19/09, 8:23 pm by Thomas C. Gallagher

Re: disorderly conduct

The police are not the court. Hire a good criminal defense lawyer and fight it. You appear to state a "defense of others" defense.

FFI: http://www.liberty-lawyer.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gallagher Criminal Defense Services 310 Fourth Avenue South, Suite 8000 Minneapolis, MN 55415

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/09/09, 12:31 pm by Maury Beaulier612.240.8005

Re: disorderly conduct

I am not sure that I understand. You certainly have a defense to a disorderly conduct charge if you were acting to protect your daughter.

For a FREE consultation call 612.240.8005.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Minnesota Lawyers 5775 Wayzata Blvd., Ste 700 St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/09/09, 4:36 pm by Tom James

Re: disorderly conduct

There might be several kinds of defenses available to you. Depending on the particular circumstances and words involved, it might be possible to raise a 'defense of others' defense and/or a First Amendment defense. Unless you don't intend to fight it, you should enter a "not guilty" plea at your first appearance. Since it's a misdemeanor you could also ask for a jury trial. If you can't afford an attorney you should ask for a public defender.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Tom James 440 North Broadway Avenue Cokato, MN 55321

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search