Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Minnesota

My father is mentally ill. He has been committed to stay in the psychiatric ward of a hospital for the next six months. My sister and I filed for conservator/guardianship to start figuring out his finances because he is severely in debt (credit companies keep calling, cant do anything about it). A hearing date is set. I recently received a letter saying my father's mother (80+ yrs old) and his sister filed for conservator/guardianship, but they have not been consistantly in my father's life for the past 26 years, as they live in a far away state. They've hired a lawyer, we haven't. We are worried because they want to move him away from us and I do not trust them handling his money, either. Lots of family drama revolving around them. I am wondering, what factors will the judge take into consideration when determining the conservator/guardianship?

Asked on 6/23/12, 3:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Melvin Peterson 763-424-6442
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is best to hired an attorney and file your own petition

Read more
6/26/12, 9:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now