Minnesota | Business Law
Legal Question
Difference between asset purchase agreement and buy out
I would like to know the main reasons why and when to use a buy out agreement and/or and asset purchase agreement when buying a company
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: Difference between asset purchase agreement and buy out Asset purchase agreement: Agreement under which you buy assets only. You want to buy the assets, not the liabilities. Don't buy the company itself, just buy what it owns. Let them keep their problems.
Buy out agrement: usually refers to a contract between co-owners covering what happens to the business if one of them dies or becomes disabled or wants to sell their share of the business. If you have partners, you really need this - unless you don't care if a new partner shows up who you don't even know.
Hope this helps. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Mahoney Anderson LLC
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 2836
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Minnesota Lawyers - Jesperson Law Offices
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Steven J. Vatndal
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Vincent W. King, PA
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Thomas B. James
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Search Questions and Answers


