Minnesota  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/14/03, 8:30 pm

Legal Question


Termination Notice Owed

Hi,

Two years' ago when I hired cleaning help, I was asked to

sign a document which among other things asked to give the

employee a month notice before dismissal. It did not

address issues such as poor quality of work. The document

was a very one-sided document. Nevertheless, I did sign it.

Recently I have been unhappy with the quality of the service

and following several conversations with the cleaning help,

including some very strong words from her, I asked her not

to return to my house. She is now demanding a full month's

worth of wages and threating to take me to small claims'

court because of the document that I had signed. Should I

have to pay to settle this once and for all? From my

perspective, she did not fulfill her part of the contract

since the house was not cleaned well enough and also how can

I reasonably give someone a month's notice and allow her to

clean my house during that time when I basically don't trust

her anymore. Is this a valid contract that I have to comply

with?

Many thanks in advance for your input and


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search