Minnesota | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
My partner and I want to "disappear" from our family. They are emotionally abusive and have the resources to "track us down" via a PI or access to public records. We want to change our names, and start fresh in another state. Neither of us have a criminal record, no debts, no assets and no children. Our local court keeps open records of name changes. We want to obtain employment, but fear using our SSN's will allow a PI to find us, and the SS Department does not deem our reason necessary for a new SSN. What can we do?


