Minnesota  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 1:37 am

Legal Question


I have recently moved from out of state to MN so I could be with my fiance. After the move, I no longer have access to a shooting partner (we would usually just rent or use one of his).

So I applied for a permit to purchase so that I can go to the range alone.

I am 24.

I have no criminal background or psychological issues what-so-ever.

I hold a MN state drivers license.

My company has even registered my earnings for taxes with the state.

This request was denied by the city police on the grounds that my move was "less than 1 year ago", that I was not a registered leaser in the city (as I moved into a house already leased by my fiance), and that my MN state ID was recently provided.

I did provide a very detailed past-address listing, so that my criminal record (or lack there of) could indeed be verified as clean from my previous state.

My Questions:

-------------

Is there any grounds to this denial?

I was not aware of an in-state residency length requirement to purchase firearms.

If so, what does the statute/law look like, and how long will I have to wait?

I also understand that being denied flags you as an increased risk, and can increase the probability for denial again.

Should I expect this to still hinder my ability to purchase?

(They did not report that it was illegal for me to own a firear. I realize that applying for a firearm that you are not allowed to own is a felony.)

If it isn't grounds for denial (as the only reason), what is my recourse with the city?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search