Minnesota  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 5:54 pm

Legal Question


Does a person have to make contact with you in a fight, or if they just swing and miss can you defend yourself legally?


question bubble
11/18/09, 10:08 pm

Legal Answer


Your right to defend yourself depends more upon what reasonably seems likely to happen in the immediate future than what has already happened. If your adversary seems uninterested in making a second attempt, then the fact that he missed the first time does not give you the right to use force against him.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search