Minnesota  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 6:54 pm

Legal Question


I took my car to a repair shop to have them run a diognastic test to tell me what was going wrong with it. they called me back and told me that they had found the problem with it, it was a wire going from the computer to the camshaft sensor. they said that it would be $300 i agreed to the price and said to fix it . The next day they called me back and said that replacing the wire did not fix the problem, and that they already spent 9 hours to find the problem and had still not solved it and wanted more time. I told them no and to put the car back together and i would be back to pick it up and talk about the price. When I got To the shop I said since I was getting my car back in the exact way I took in i was not going to pay the full price. my offer was to pay for the mechanics hourly wage I figured about 25 dollars an hour at 9 hours was $225.The store manager said that the owner denied my request. and that i would have to wait 3 days for the owner to get back to town to discuss the issue. My question is what right do they have to keep my car when i made a fair offer since i sill have a car that does not run.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search