Charged with violation of a restraining order 4 times in under 2 months, what sorta of time am i expecting in minnesota?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Under Minnesota Statutes, a person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if the person knowingly violates a domestic abuse restraining order within ten years of the first of two or more previous qualified domestic violence-related offense convictions or adjudications of delinquency.
Prison is always possible. However, if there is a felony conviction and the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, the court shall impose at least a 30-day period of incarceration as a condition of probation. The court also shall order that the defendant participate in counseling or other appropriate programs selected by the court.
For legal representation call 612-240-8005.
Related Questions & Answers
Needing help. My husband was arrested about 5 days ago due to me calling the police... Asked 9/27/12, 8:03 am in United States Minnesota Criminal Law
I was caught stealing twice. The first place at H&M and the second at Sears. A... Asked 9/24/12, 4:06 pm in United States Minnesota Criminal Law
Recently I posted bail for my son who is in jail. He also had a DOC hold on him. I'm... Asked 9/19/12, 4:39 am in United States Minnesota Criminal Law
If found not guilty of a domestic assualt crime can you counter sue for legal cost Asked 9/13/12, 9:37 pm in United States Minnesota Criminal Law
I was a witness to an arrest of a friend. He was on the road and had a motorbike... Asked 9/05/12, 4:56 pm in United States Minnesota Criminal Law