Legal Question in Criminal Law in Minnesota

I've been at my current job for two years now. Seven months ago I received a charge of petty misdemeanor theft. Everything has been said and done and I have paid my $180 fine. My name will appear in the newspaper under convictions and I am worried that I will lose my current job because of this act if my employer sees this. Can I get fired from my job even though this instance has nothing to do with my current employer?

Asked on 11/04/12, 11:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Landon Ascheman Ascheman & Smith, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, Minnesota is an "at will" State. Your employer can fire you for nearly any reason.

Read more
Answered on 11/04/12, 11:40 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Minnesota


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now