Minnesota  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/11/13, 6:16 am

Hello, my friend who is a minor (17 years old) left her house for a couple days without telling her parents. They then reported her as missing and when she got home the cops came and arrested her. She has been in jail overnight and was told she has to stay there until her court date on Wednesday. Is this legal? Can the judge order her to go to jail for running away? She lives in Minnesota.

2 Answers


Answered on: 11/11/13, 7:17 am by Tricia Dwyer

Hello. Your friend should turn to her attorney for legal counsel and advice at this time. Full details need to be known in order to provide appropriate legal advice. You ought not post details of this matter on a public website.

Tricia Dwyer Esq

Ph: 612-296-9666

Tricia Dwyer Esq & Assoc PLLC

Minnesota Juvenile Criminal Defense


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Tricia Dwyer Esq & Assoc PLLC Twin Cities Twin Cities To St. Cloud, MN 55404

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/11/13, 10:23 am by Maury Beaulier612.240.8005

Yes. It is legal. Being away from home without consent while a minor is a juvenile infraction.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Minnesota Lawyers 5775 Wayzata Blvd., Ste 700 St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search