Minnesota  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/03/13, 10:03 pm

In Minnesota can text messages be used against u in court

4 Answers


Answered on: 7/03/13, 10:21 pm by Landon Ascheman

Yes.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ascheman & Smith, LLC 500 Laurel Ave St. Paul, MN 55102

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/04/13, 6:46 am by Tricia Dwyer

Hello. Text messages, like emails, Facebook posts, Twitter posts / tweets, Instagrams, all are potentially admissible; there is no 'inherent' bar of any sort to admissibility. Admissible evidence must be relevant to one or more issues of the particular case before the court. There are multiple exceptions for hearsay evidence. If the probative value of an item of evidence is outweighed by concerns of unfair prejudice or confusion, then the item of evidence may be excluded. These are general principles of law, not to be considered either exhaustive, and not to be considered private legal advice. Please do confer with an attorney for your needs and issues. Some attorneys are available seven days for emergency legal needs. Many attorneys will confer initially at no charge. Then, if legal work is performed, some attorneys will provide a reduced fee for financial hardship. Some attorneys may also assist you in limited scope manner to conserve legal costs. All the best. Tricia Dwyer, Esq. at 612-296-9666. Criminal Defense


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Tricia Dwyer Esq & Assoc PLLC Twin Cities Twin Cities To St. Cloud, MN 55404

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/04/13, 6:50 am by Thomas C. Gallagher

Yes, provided an evidentiary foundation is provided.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gallagher Criminal Defense Services 310 Fourth Avenue South, Suite 8000 Minneapolis, MN 55415

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/05/13, 9:37 am by Maury Beaulier612.240.8005

Yes. They can be admitted if proper foundation is provided for their admissibility.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Minnesota Lawyers 5775 Wayzata Blvd., Ste 700 St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search