Minnesota  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 12:53 pm

Legal Question


I like to know if I can sue for slander. A exfriend of mine is telling everyone I know that I emailed the Department of Natrual Resources in Minnesota. What happened is he was stopped last weekend while hunting. He was hunting with a firearm. They took his gun from him. The reason they did so is because he has 2 domestic abuse charges on him. He is not to own a firearm. I did not email,call,and or stop by the DNR. Since this time I have lost friends and have problems with my probation on a pending case. He is making trouble. He gets inheritance yearly so he does have money to be had. I swear I did not do what he claims. Im sure there is a way to contact the DNR and prove that is was not me. Can I sue for slander? Thank you. Jeff Dennis


question bubble
11/17/09, 1:40 pm

Legal Answer


I am afraid there is very little to suport a case for defamation since you would have no quantifiable monetary loss.

Maury Beaulier612.240.8005

Minnesota Lawyers 5775 Wayzata Blvd., Ste 700 St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search