Re: When accepting an Alfred Plea, does this show up on the criminal record?
An Alfred plea will have the same efect as a guilty plea and will be considered a refusal and an offense that would enhance any future DWI offenses.
Based on the information that you provide, it would seem that you may have a very good defense. Your refusal may be considered reasonable in light of your disability.
There is a great deal at stake. A refusale is thrid degree offense idf you have had no priors withing ten years. It is a gross misdemeanor, and carries with it maximum criminal penalties of a year in jail and a $3000 fine. Different Judges give different sentences. As a result, understanding your Judge and knowing how to change Judge's can be an important part of the process.
There is also a civil case that results in the revocation of your driver's license. On a refusal, you may be revoked for up to one year. This is a separate case even though the challenges are largely the same. In order to challenge you license revocation, you must seek a judicial review by filing a petition within 30 days of the offense.
There are also additional consequences to a conviction including skyrocketing insurance rates, plate impoundments and sometimes vehicle forfeitures.
There are many challenges to a DWI. Officers must follow very specific steps as part of the arrest. If any one step is missing, the case may be dismissed.
• Reasonable Suspicion. The officer must have reasonable suspicion to believe a specific crime has been committed in order to stop a person. If that reasonable suspicion is lacking the stop and the ticket may be invalid;
• Probable Cause to arrest and charge. the officer must make sufficient observations to form a basis for probable cause to believe that you were operating a vehicle while intoxicated. Oftentimes, officers perform field sobriety tests incorrectly making the arrest invalid;
• Procedures at the Station. The officer must follow very specific procedures at the station including reading and recording an Implied Consent Advisory that informs you that you have a right to a lawyer. If any of the steps are omitted, the charges may be dismissed;
• Test Procedures. Testing methods to determine blood alcohol concentrations are imperfect at best. Like any scientific method, any test result has a margin of error. If the machinery is not properly maintained and even if it is properly maintained, the test results may vary fro true Blood Alcohol Concentration. A sufficient variation may result in a reduce charge or no charge.
For a Consultation call us at 952.746.2153.
Maury D. Beaulier
Attorney at Law
HELLMUTH & JOHNSON, PLLC
10400 Viking Drive Suite 500
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
Phone: (952) 746-2153 Fax: (952) 941-2337
E-Mail: mbeaulier@hjlawfirm.com
Visit http://www.MinnesotaLawyers.com