Minnesota | DUI Law
Legal Question
BWI 2nd Offense
I was reading your response to a question posted by another offender (on lawguru), the situation is very similar to mine. I was convicted of my first DWI offense in 2005, I was on probation until 7/18/08 (in Sherburne county). On 7/26/08 I was out on lake Minnetonka with some friends (on my boat), at 8:30 PM we were flagged down and pulled over by a sheriff for expired tags, after giving the sheriff my ID and the requested info he asked me to submit to a PBT (said he could smell alcohol), I felt completely sober and knew I had only consumed about three drinks in three hours so I submitted to the test. He said that I failed the PBT test but confirmed that I did not seem intoxicated and appeared perfectly fine, he then said he would like me to try again because he would like to let me go. I submitted to 2 more PBT’s both of which I failed, he then brought me to the sheriff station where I was asked to take the intoxilyzer, I did and blew a 0.11. what I would like, is to resolve this with as few issues as possible, preferably no jail time and short probation and driving suspension.


