Hello, I was given a DWI around year 2000 @ .10, and got a second one in 2003, my date I was arrested for @ .11 was in August, but my court date was not until late November, I am trying to stay clean and was wondering if I do go over the 10 year mark (As far as no new offense) is it the date I was stopped or the date that the charge appears on my record like the court date for example. And If I do go past the ten year mark what happens if I ever get stopped and charged with a drinking offense, does the clock get turned back so Its like my first Charge or does the one (first charge fall off my record ) go away ?. I realize it may always show up there, I was told by Non Lawyers that on your third offense you Will loose your car, Is that true ?. So in a nutshell I am wondering a 3rd DWI in more than 10 years since your last charge, How is that treated and is your Car forfeited ?
Trying to stay clean.
1 Answer from Attorneys
Hello. Your questions are complex. You may want to study the applicable Minnesota Statutes, for one, and the materials available at the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website. Please do confer privately with an attorney and she/he will be happy to look at your record and advise you in great detail as to the various questions you have posed as well as related matter. Terrific that you indicate that you are 'trying to stay clean'.
Tricia Dwyer Esq
Tricia Dwyer Esq & Assoc PLLC
Related Questions & Answers
Last night I had too much to drink and I ended up passing out at a public bus stop.... Asked 10/13/13, 11:57 pm in United States Minnesota Drunk Driving & DUI Law
If I am driving my car, sober, and my husband is a passenger wanting to have a beer,... Asked 8/02/13, 7:22 am in United States Minnesota Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I was issued a dwi in the beginning of June and given an invalid form upon my... Asked 7/28/13, 3:42 pm in United States Minnesota Drunk Driving & DUI Law
How much time will i do if i exacute a staggering sentence 2nd deg.gross misd.dui... Asked 6/30/13, 9:13 pm in United States Minnesota Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I hada public defender for my Mn DWI. I was told icould pay one half of my... Asked 5/30/13, 6:40 pm in United States Minnesota Drunk Driving & DUI Law