Minnesota | DUI Law
Legal Question
Is it worth contesting the D.U.I. charge?
Brother& friend were arguing on sidewalk. Pulled car over, parked,& waited. Sat there 3-4 minutes,car on,3 in car. A car pulled up behind,2-3 car lenghts away. Was police officer. He turned on flashing lights& spotlight aimed at brother. Friend and I exited car,approached officer& brother. Asked if there was problem, said thought there was domestic dispute, that's why stopped. Told him they were friends having heated discussion. Asked who was driving,I said I was. Asked if I had been drinking. Told him earlier yes. Told to follow him& do tests. A couple of these I'd have trouble with when not drinking. Said he needed give me breath test. He did,it was .10%(didn't show me)Handed me mouthpiece told me to hang on to it. (said I might want it for keepsake)Told him we were 1 block from apt. We'd leave car walk home. Said he had legal responsibility to arrest me for DUI. Pulled hands behind back& cuffed me,I had marks on wrists next day. Pushed me into car. Realized my car was running,went over, grabbed keys, told brother& friend get out. Brother asked for keys,they needed apt.key. Do I have a chance of fighting this?


