Minnesota  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/13/03, 8:35 pm

Legal Question


On insurance awards, Is the other half entitled to half?

On insurance awards, is the other half entitled to half of the award?

I have a friend who will be recieving an insurance award. This person is working on getting divorced. They are still married at this time.

The estranged husban believes he is entitled to half of the award, due to the fact that they are still married. They have not been living together, due to his violent behavior.

Is it clear cut that he would be entitled to half? or are there situations that will allow my friend to keep the full amount?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search