Minnesota | Family Law
Legal Question
Power of Attorney for ''custodial'' step-parent
My husband just recently received full physical and legal custody of his 9-year-old daughter (after initially having been awarded joint legal, but sole physical). We have been married for 3 years and his daughter has lived with us during the entire time. Her biological mother lives close by and has visitation rights. I am the mother who takes care of all of her daily needs, the 24-hour a day/7-days a week mom. Being my husband isn't home much I make all decisions, sign all paperwork, and take kids to doctors, etc. for my own children as well as for his daughter. My question is, can my husband sign a Power-of-Attorney for me to legally do these things without his ex's consent or approval? Does this have to be taken to court?


