Legal Question in Family Law in Minnesota

My wife's ex isn't paying for our step-daughters health insurance, like he is suppose to and agreed too. They were never married, so there is no divorce agreement(had kid as teens). He said if I pay the premiums, he'd pay me back. He's a longtime deadbeat ($15k+ in back child support due), so I am not confident he'll be reimbursing me on premiums, let alone the $2500 deductible, I'd have to pay out-of-pocket. What kind of protections do I have (state of MN). He's already in state mandated payroll deduction and we get his state tax returns. Can I put a lien on some of his property or what? The extra premiums are an extra $120/mo. for her and we're living tight, like everyone else. Any info would help.

Asked on 7/07/11, 11:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 Minnesota Lawyers
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A property lien is not possible. He can have an arrearage if payment is ordered by a court and a judgement is entered for unpaid fees that were ordered.

Read more
7/07/11, 10:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now