Minnesota | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Unable to collect last paycheck
I quit my previous job approximately 6 weeks ago. It has been 5 weeks since the paydate following my termination of employment. During this entire 5 week period I have been trying to collect my last paycheck. I have been unsucessful and have decided to file a claim with the small claims court in my county. I am wondering if I am entitled to any additional money besides the hourly wage that is owed to me. I have been told by one person that I may be able to get three times the amount of pay I am entitled to, and feel that I should at least be paid interest on the amount of money they have been holding.
I am confident that I will win my case, as there has been no legitimate excuse for not paying me. Can you tell me if I should sue for more than the amount they owe to me? If not, can you direct me to a website that outlines a law relating to this issue?
Thank you.


