Minnesota | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
injuries sustained due to lack of security
a family member of mine was a victim of a home invasion and assault at her apartment complex. The location has had a history of burglaries and vandalism. The assailant broke into her home and pistol-whipped her in the head and the gun went off, shooting a bullet into the wall of her bedroom where 2 children were sleeping. At the complex, there is absolutely no security personnel, no security doors for tenants use only, and the main enterance door to the complex is of poor quality and the door frame is rotten out for the most part. I was wondering if, due to this lack of security, the landlord could be held liable for damages since they have done nothing to improve the safety of their tenants prior, or since, this incident. They even made the victim pay for damages sustained from the bullet hole and door break. Is that even legal? She was legally bound to stay there due to the signing of the lease. So why is she made to stay somewhere that is so unsafe? thank you


