Minnesota  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 1:11 pm

Legal Question


I am a landlord that shares my home with a renter. We both signed a lease agreement. She never ended up paying me the security deposit. She paid rent past the first 5 days of October after constant notices. I never collected a late payment. For November, again she paid rent late past the 5 first days of the month. However, she did not pay me the full amount and still owes me $200. I gave her an eviction notice and she seems quite aggravated. I'm fearful that she will damage my property and I highly doubt she will pay me the remaining rent for the month of Novemember. What other options do I have as the landlord to have her removed from my house ASAP? The eviction notice gave her 30-days, however, since she broke the lease, can I demand that she move out sooner?


question bubble
11/15/09, 1:17 pm

Legal Answer


You cannot evict her without a court proceeding called an Unlawful Detainer.

Call or email for assistance. I have been a LL for 30 years.

David Anderson

Mahoney Anderson LLC P.O. Box 44504 Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search