Minnesota | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Defamation of Character/slander
My 3 nieces were taken from their grandma (my mother) by child protection related to endangerment (DUI with kids in car) and neglect (she is alchoholic x 20 years. Parents are in prison, I am licensed foster care provider-kids were placed with me by child protection until investigation was complete, Grandma not cooperating with social services. Grandma thinks I turned her in (it was the oldest child that told the school counselor about the drinking). Grandma called the sheriffs department in my county and told them that I was molesting the youngest and abusing the children. (I am a lesbian, therefore an easy target for molestation charges) Sheriffs come to my home. Children are removed next day by Social Services. I am a professional in my community as is my spouse. Her actions have caused me financial harm, alienation of my family and because of my profession as a health care provider should the small community hear from a ranting alcoholic that I was accused of molestation of a child (plus the fact that I am an out gay person), my career would be finished, I would have to move. Can I sue?


