Minnesota  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/23/06, 4:45 pm

Legal Question


HOA-The Home Owners Rights

We closed on our new (first) home on 1/13/06. We paid the HOA dues for 1/13-2/1 upon closing. Our HOA did not provide the garbage and snow removal services that are included in our monthly dues from 1/13-2/15. I ended up calling our HOA to see what was up, they told me that the builder didn't submit the paper work to them to let them know about our closing (according to our mortgage company this is not true) and therefore was not their fault that we did not get those services. A few days later I got a bill requesting payment for the month of February. I have been told that if we don't pay they can lein our home, but we should not be paying for a service that was not provided. I emailed her and asked for a credit on the snow removal and garbage service for that time frame (we have no problem paying for the other services) I also let her know as soon as she responds to me I will send the check for February and March. I have sent her 2 emails and she has not responded since my first inquiry. I don't know where to go from here. Do I have any rights here for getting credit on services not provided by my HOA?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search