Minnesota  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
5/01/06, 5:12 pm

Legal Question


Driving After Suspension 2nd Offense

My wife was recently pulled over for driving after suspension, her second one in two years. The sus. is the result of a traffic accident she was involved with 13 years ago when she was 20. She had no insurance at the time. The insurance company waited 11 years to ask MN to suspend her license for non-payment of the damage that was done to the other car. We contacted the insurance company to set up a payment plan and were successful in getting the license unsuspended. Last october the insurance company contacted us stating that if $200 wasn't recieved by November they would have her license sus. again. We immediately sent out a check that was cashed on Oct 31st. The issue was forgotten about until 3 weeks ago when my wife was pulled over again for driving after sus. Seems she was suspended since November. Contacted the insurance company and they stated that they had it suspended because we didn't contact them to set up a payment plan. We have now paid the debt in full since this incident and have proff of it from the ins company. Wife has heard horror stories of people going to jail for 4 to 10 days for this offense. Is this a possibility? Will the judge give her the benefit of the doubt since the debt was paid? Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search